The AJFF Jury

Deliberated by an esteemed panel of filmmakers, journalists, students, and experts, each year, the Jury reviews select films playing in competition and picks winners across six categories:

In addition to the existing Audience Awards for Best Narrative, Best Documentary and Best Short, see the films eligible for Jury Prizes in these same categories.

An Emerging Filmmaker Prize will also be awarded to a rising creative talent, whose film shows exceptional skill and artistry. The Building Bridges Prize will honor the film that most exemplifies the mission of AJFF, informed by founder and partner American Jewish Committee, to foster understanding among communities of diverse religious, ethnic and cultural backgrounds.

Rounding out the list is the Human Rights Prize, awarded to the film that most powerfully captures the perseverance and strength in those whose sense of justice guides them in the face of bigotry, inequality and/or persecution.


Howard Rosenman (American Producer & Motion Picture Executive, Howard Rosenman Productions)
Eddy Von Mueller (Writer & Filmmaker)
Paige Howard (Graduate Student, Savannah College of Art & Design, Film & Television)

Films in Competition


Gail Evans (Author, Adjunct Lecturer at Georgia Tech & Former Executive Vice President of CNN)
Simon Kilmurry (Executive Director, International Documentary Association)
Chloe Kwiatkowski (Undergraduate Student, University of North Georgia, Film & Digital Media)

Films in Competition


Steve Mensch (President & General Manager of Studio Operations, Tyler Perry Studios)
Matthew Shear (Actor-Producer)
Emma Kantor (Undergraduate Student, Emory University, Creative Writing and Film)

Films in Competition


Jeffrey Abramson (Creative & Marketing Executive)
Erin Bernhardt (Filmmaker)
Deliyah Flagg (Undergraduate Student, Clark Atlanta University, Fashion Merchandising)

Films in Competition


Amy Schwartz (Journalist & Opinion Editor, Moment Magazine)
Melanie Maron Pell (Assistant Executive Director & Managing Director Regional Offices, American Jewish Committee)
Daniel Eshbaugh (Undergraduate Student, Emory University, Finance and Film & Media Management)

Films in Competition


Alonso Duralde (Film Critic & Author)
Steve Denker (Senior Director of Marketing, Turner Classic Movies)
Maddy Laing (Undergraduate Student, Georgia State University, Film and Media Studies)

Films in Competition